Greetings from Hogwarts

November 3, 2010 § 1 Comment

post 11/3

sometimes I can’t help but wish that Hogwarts was real

now I have to admit, I’ve never read the books… but its not the plot that keeps me watching movie after movie- its the interiors. On a trip home this past weekend my parents and I decided to watch Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire; I’ve seen the movie before but it wasn’t until this weekend when I remembered how truly magical and captivating these sets are. There’s an old world sort of charm to these interiors- the colors are rich, the wood is dark, the light is warm, and everything is just a little bit tattered. Two and a half hours later, all I could think about was hanging out in the Gryffindor common room and how cool it would be if there really were such things as floating candle sticks.

set design by Stuart Craig

Great Hall

Gryffindor Common Room

Harry Potter’s Dormitory

the Astronomy Classroom

bedroom at the Leaky Cauldron’s Wizard Pub

the Shrieking Shack

§ One Response to Greetings from Hogwarts

  • Craig says:

    I always liked the old, more character , feeling of stability and timelessness , didn’t know you noticed. Colleen Daly said my home reminded her of a castle. Cool.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Greetings from Hogwarts at the modern day atelier.

meta