middle aged inspiration

March 15, 2011 § 1 Comment

 

I was recently just assigned a project in which Medieval Gothic style was to be my inspiration

Although an avid fan of Sword in the Stone, King Arthur, and Robin Hood, I never thought I would consider my design sense stylistically similar to the Middle Ages

However after some research, I found myself swooning over Medieval cathedrals, gargoyles, and illuminated manuscripts

Below are some of my favorite findings:

These are all figures that were carved into a single cathedral exterior. Such extreme detail considering the variety of expressions, poses, and sizes

 

I love how all the support beams of this cathedral ceiling create a web-like effect

The corridor of the Gloucester Cathedral

How stunningly beautiful are those ceilings?! I can’t even imagine how much time and hard work was put into this. I hope to be able to visit this cathedral one day. I would live in this corridor if I could!

Again, LOVE all the support beams and the positive/negative space interaction. So glad to see some color incorporated too! Now if only all ceilings could be like this…

I wish all books could have illuminations. With every turn of a page you are looking at a new work of art. One of my favorite examples of illuminated manuscripts is The Book of Kells (pictured below). The Book of Kells is one of Ireland’s greatest treasures! Truly stunning in all its intricacy!

Click HERE for an informational video on the Book of Kells from msnbc


§ One Response to middle aged inspiration

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading middle aged inspiration at the modern day atelier.

meta